10 Things to Carry-On

With the countdown to Rome getting smaller and smaller, I have had a few questions about packing.  Although I am no expert, I have done quite a few trips abroad and know the struggle of packing, especially for first time travelers.  There are TSA, long lines, weight restrictions, size restrictions and the threat of lost luggage.  What do you bring to make your flight comfortable and fall within guidelines so that you are not told to choose between your flight or your stuff at the gate?

Here is my list:

  • Bag – A blogger and YouTube girl that I enjoy watching is Jen at Pretty Neat Living.  She reviewed the Lipault Carry-On Brief and I think that the bag is brilliant.  It has a lot of pockets and looks like it is easy to handle.  This is a definite do.
  • Shawl/Scarf – I like to carry a shawl or big scarf on the plan to use as a blanket or fold up for back support.  They are just handy to have and you can wear it at your destination.
  • Tablet – You need to read blogs on something?
  • Headphones – Airlines do provide you with headphones, but maybe it is a good idea to bring your own.  Anything that you bring would offer better quality, not to mention cleanliness than what they offer on the plane.  I’m diggin the Frends with Benefits headphones these days.  How can you go wrong with gold headphones?
  • Travel Wallet – I like a travel wallet that holds my passport and tickets.  I find it handy to have everything in one place.
  •  Cleansing wipes – Not-so-fresh airplane air can make your skin feel yucky.  I love Pacifica face wipes because they smell good and they don’t have nasty chemicals in them.
  • Extra underwear – Lost luggage, be prepared……..enough said.
  • Oral hygiene products – Its a good idea to have a travel toothbrush, toothpaste and mouthwash.  You will feel better if you can freshen up you mouth at least once during a long flight.
  • Sleep mask – This is a must for me.  It will make sleeping on the plane so much easier.  I always get sunlight directly in my face and can’t sleep because of it.
  • Travel Pharmacy – bring allergy medicine, pain reliever and anything else you might need.  Your destination may not have what you need.  This is a life saver, believe me.
Leave a Reply

