Roman Holiday Part I

Ciao Bellissima!

Last year I partnered up with a fantastic tour company, Go Ahead Tours, to put together a trip to Rome.  Check out my tour here .

My vision is to get what I call “travel newbies” out and seeing the world.  I often run into people that ask me how I’ve done so much international travel and that they wish that they could go but haven’t for one reason or another.  I always hear that they don’t have anyone to go with or that they don’t know where to start or that they are just scared to make that first step.  I also get asked why don’t I plan a trip for various friends and family so that they would feel confident to go.

So, I decided to seek out a tour company to partner with for the first group and in the future, I plan to make it a full business…..stay tuned for that.

Anyway, I love Rome and thought that it would be a great first trip for some “newbies” in my area.  We currently have about 18 weeks til we depart, some on their very first trip abroad.

Chantel Lucus - StockSnap
Chantel Lucus – StockSnap

I would like to share some tips that I have found to be helpful as we countdown to our Roman Holiday.

  1. Learn a few words of the language.  A little goes a long way and it will make things a little easier.  People appreciate the effort.  I am a language teacher and have come across some really fun and free programs that you can try.  I’m not talking about spending hours on Rosetta Stone for a 7 day trip, but a few basic words like please, thank you, where is the bathroom and whatnot.
    • Duolingo – app for your phone that you can practice reading, speaking and writing and it is completely FREE.
    • Pronunciator – everything from “words on the street” to poetry”, you can learn about 80 different languages on this software and it is offered for free through libraries and schools.  Check your city library website for this one.
    • Mango – I love that they give cultural notes as you go through the lessons.  Also, they have lessons geared toward holiday travelers and business professionals.  Mango also has movies that you can watch in your target language to switch things up alittle.  Check out your local library or school website for this software also.

2.  Although we have all of these gadgets and apps, there is nothing better than a guide book with a map.  You never know when you might need an actual map and its kind of fun.  A guide book will give you ideas of what you would really like to see and good places to eat.  I like Eyewitness Travel books because they have great pictures of foods and activities so that you really have a good idea of what you are getting into.

That’s all for now, small doses at a time!

Arrivederci,

B

Leave a Reply

